• Alain Cuerrier et Luise Hermanutz
  • English
  • 2012
  • 118 pages
  • 978-0-88901-435-0
  • 23$
$23.00 (CAD)

Our plants… Our land / Plants of Nain and Torngat Mountains Basecamp & Research Station (Nunatsiavut)

Ce guide a été conçu pour les résidents du Nunatsiavut et les nombreux visiteurs intéressés à en apprendre davantage sur les environnements naturels du nord du Labrador et sur son incroyable diversité de plantes arctiques. Il répertorie les plantes qui sont généralement trouvées à Nain et au Camp de base et à la station de recherche du Mont Torngat. On y trouve aussi certaines variétés qui sont plus restreintes ou difficiles à trouver.

Ce qui est unique à ce livre est qu’il comprend les noms inuits des plantes et leurs usages traditionnels. Il permet ainsi aux visiteurs de faire connaissance avec les plantes tout en honorant la langue et les connaissances des Inuits.

À propos des auteurs
Alain Cuerrier détient un doctorat en systématique végétale. Après un passage à l’Université du Québec à Montréal comme chargé de cours, il a participé à la mise en place du jardin des Premières-Nations au jardin botanique de Montréal. À partir de 2001, il oriente ses recherches en ethnobotanique et en ethno-écologie. Ses travaux le mènent en territoire nordique où il collabore avec les Cris et les Inuits à propos de leurs savoirs traditionnels et des changements climatiques.

Luise Hermanutz est professeur au Département de biologie de l’Université Memorial de Terre-Neuve. Elle travaille depuis plusieurs années au Labrador.

• Alain Cuerrier and Luise Hermanutz
  • English
  • 2012
  • 118 pages
  • 978-0-88901-435-0
  • 23$
$23.00 (CAD)

Our plants… Our land / Plants of Nain and Torngat Mountains Basecamp & Research Station (Nunatsiavut)

This book has been created for the residents of Nunatsiavut and the many visitors who are interested in earning more about the natural environments of northern Labrador and its incredible diversity of arctic plants. It includes plants that are commonly found in Nain and around the Torngat Mountains Basecamp and Research Station, and those that are more restricted and harder to find.

What is truly unique about this book is that it includes Inuit names for the plants and their traditional uses, something that has to date not been documented for Labrador. It not only helps visitors get to know the plants but it also honours the Inuit language and knowledge.

About the author
Alain Cuerrier holds a PhD in plant systematics. After teaching briefly at UQÀM, he contributed to the establishment of the First-Nations Garden, at the Montreal Botanical Garden. Since 2001, his research focuses on ethnobotanics and ethno-ecology. His work brings him in the north where he collaborates with Cree and Inuit, recording their traditional knowledge and studying climate change.

Luise Hermanutz is a professor in the Department of Biology of Memorial University (Newfoundland). She has been working in Labrador for several years.